Starboard Home: new album inspired by Dublin Port

This Friday sees the release of a new album that is a unique collaboration between leading Irish songwriters. The album entitled Starboard Home is collection of songs inspired by the relationship between the port, the river and the city. It has been commissioned by Dublin Port as part of the Ireland 2016 Centenary Programme.

The album gathers together some of Ireland’s top songwriters and will create a mix of elegant electronic pop to sublime trad inspired moments and crafted song-writing. The artists featured include Paul Noonan (Bell X1), Paul Cleary (The Blades), Cathy Davey, Duke Special, Gemma Hayes, Jape, Colm Mac Con Iomaire, Lisa O’Neill, Declan O’Rourke, John Sheahan and Caitriona Lally.

The album will be performed in full on the 22nd and 23rd in the National Concert Hall. Tickets are available here.

Album tracklisting:

  1. Paul Noonan Steel Ballet
  2. Richard Egan The Liffey Knew
  3. Gemma Hayes Caught In The Rapids
  4. Colm Mac Con Iomaire From The Mountain To The Sea
  5. Paul Cleary Kingfisher Blue
  6. James Vincent McMorrow Down In The Diving Bell
  7. Declan O’Rourke Colossus
  8. Duke Special Button Men
  9. Cathy Davey What Else
  10. Lisa O’Neill Rock The Machine
  11. John Sheahan Liffeysong

For more information check out their Facebook page.

About the Author

Ann Robinson
Has a passion for coastal heritage and maritime history. Loves sharing the best of the Irish coast online. Contact me or follow me on Twitter @AnnRobinson22